We build smart antennas


The Smart Antenna Company

ALCAN Systems is developing a new class of innovative smart antennas—ultra thin flat panel technology, very low power usage, and able to adjust its beam electronically without any moving parts—at an extremely affordable price.

The result is a high-performance, future-proof data connectivity solution for any location. With the groundbreaking method of using liquid crystal display assembly line for production, the ALCAN Systems flat panel antenna represents a technology breakthrough in satellite and cellular communications.

ALCAN smart antennas are designed to meet the needs of a range of markets including maritime, aero, land mobility, consumer broadband, and enterprise. ALCAN’s systems are compatible with satellites in any orbital altitude (LEO, MEO and GEO) and can support Ka and Ku band frequencies.

The low profile, low power, low cost nature of the ALCAN antennas also makes them ideally suited for cellular backhaul, easily placed on top of cell towers for expanded 3G and 4G coverage, and ultimately 5G services as well.

Furthermore, ALCAN’s antennas will provide critical Customer Premises Equipment (CPE) for 5G, as the mmWave signal from the cell-towers need to be transferred into buildings.


Dr. Onur H. Karabey,  Chief Executive Officer / Chief Technology Officer 

Dr. Karabey leads ALCAN as CEO and CTO.  Dr. Karabey developed the original technology that underpins ALCAN’s smart antenna while doing his PhD at TU Darmstadt.  With over 10 years of experience as a microwave engineer, most of those focused on liquid crystal based smart antennas, Dr. Karabey brings a wealth of applicable real-world experience to the ALCAN leadership team. He holds a Ph.D. from TU Darmstadt, where he was recognized as Outstanding Researcher. Dr. Karabey also has received 5 awards, including Ideenwettbewerb New Idea Competition in 2011,  the Springer Thesis – the “best of the best” award in 2013, VDE‐ITG Literature Prize, the Leopold B. Felsen Award for Excellence in Electromagnetics, and 3rd place in the European Satellite Navigation Competition (ESNC).

Dr. A. Burak Olcen, Chief Product Officer

Dr. Olcen is CPO of ALCAN and leads ALCAN’s product development team.  As CPO, he is responsible for developing and bringing to market ALCAN’s ground-breaking antennas for different product market segments and verticals.  Dr. Olcen has 15 years of experience as an RF Engineer in the US, where he worked for many years as a Product Development and Management Engineer. He has a Ph.D. on Electromagnetics and Antenna Design from Syracuse University.  Dr. Olcen is also a serial entrepreneur, and has co-founded 2 start-ups working on smart systems. He also holds 12 US patents.

Esat M. Sibay, Chief Financial Officer

Mr. Sibay is CFO of ALCAN and is responsible for financial management, business development, legal and administration. Having more than 20 years of experience in finance and strategic consulting  with companies such as HSBC, Citigroup and Accenture, Mr. Sibay brings a great deal of financial and business experience to ALCAN. Mr. Sibay holds an M.Sc. in Finance from London Business School, a Diploma in Economics form the London School of Economics and a B.Sc. in Industrial Engineering from Bosphorous University.

Prof. Dr. Rolf Jakoby, Senior Advisor & Board Member

Dr. Jakoby is a full professor at Technische Universitat Darmstadt and the Director of IMP Microwave Technologies Group. His work has put him in a position of leading and defining worldwide Microwave liquid crystal research which provides an enormous boost to ALCAN’s efforts. During his time at TU Darmstadt, Dr. Jakoby has overseen 15 Ph.Ds, holds 4 Patents, is still actively involved in 15 Projects, and has been given 15 awards in the Microwave liquid crystal field.


ALCAN Systems is backed by global companies which are leaders in their field


Merck is the world’s largest liquid crystal producer, providing ALCAN critical expertise in RF Liquid Crystals and giving ALCAN an innovative edge for building the world’s best smart flat panel antennas.


SES is the World’s largest satellite operator, and currently the only operator with a commercial Medium Earth Orbit (MEO) satellite constellation.


As the investment arm of the world’s largest liquid crystal display manufacturer, SPC provides ALCAN with a robust capability to manufacture its products efficiently and at low cost.


Prof. Dr. Thomas Weiland

Chairman of the Board

Prof. Dr. Rolf Jakoby

Member of the Board

Dr. Claus Schmidt

Member of the Board

Stewart Sanders

Member of the Board

Henry Wang

Member of the Board